Tonight, The Chronicle Crushers participated in a really fun, cool fundraising event for Centralia College.


Catch the Buzz was a spelling bee fundraiser for Centralia College Foundation, a group that provides tuition scholarships for those in need. A lot of key community members showed up to show their support for the foundation. It was truly heartwarming!


Besides the spelling bee, there were both silent and dessert auctions, food, wine and beer. Heymann Whinery was there with their tasty, tasty cranberry wine, of which I had a glass.


Twelve groups of four members each competed for the top prize — four $300 vouchers for Shilo Inn. Our group was comprised of The Chronicle Assistant Editor Brian Mittge, reporters Adam Pearson and Chris Brewer, and me. Brewer had to check out early for a prior engagement, and someone from the community filled in. I regret that I don't remember her name because she had quite a lovely personality. :)


Good-natured laughter filled the air constantly, and I didn't see a single person there without a smile on their face.


I hope the foundation raised a good chunk of money. As a former college student myself, I know well the rising costs of gaining an education.


I'm quite tired as I have been up since 5:30 a.m. this morning, so I apologize for any disconnects in my writing. :D I think it's time for me to retire.


Oh, and the word that finally knocked us out of the competition?


Bayamo.

It's a "violent wind blowing from the land on the south coast of Cuba, especially near the Bight of Bayamo" according to Wikipedia.



Leave a Reply.